The 2010 Blues Music Awards – And The Winner Is…

The 31st “Blues Music Awards” winners from last night:

1. Acoustic Album – You Got to Move David Maxwell & Louisiana Red
2. Acoustic Artist – Louisiana Red
3. Album of the Year – Between a Rock and the Blues, Joe Louis Walker
4. B.B. King Entertainer – Tommy Castro
5. Band of the Year – Tommy Castro Band
6. Best New Artist Debut – Tiger in Your Tank, Monkey Junk
7. Contemporary Blues Album – Hard Believer, Tommy Castro
8. Contemporary Blues Female Artist – Ruthie Foster
9. Contemporary Blues Male Artist – Tommy Castro
10. DVD – Delmark Records -It Ain’t Over! 55 Years of Blues, Live at Buddy Guy’s Legends
11. Historical Album – Chess – Authorized Bootleg -Muddy Waters Live
12. Bass – Bob Stroger
13. Drums – Cedric Burnside
14. Guitar – Derek Trucks
15. Harmonica – Jason Ricci
16. Horn – Deanna Bogart
17. Instrumentalist-Other – Buckwheat Zydeco (accordion)
18. Pinetop Perkins Piano Player – Eden Brent
19. Rock Blues Album – Already Free Derek Trucks Band
20. Song of the Year – “Pearl River” Cyril Neville & Mike Zito
21. Soul Blues Album – Ace of Spades – Johnny Rawls
22. Soul Blues Female Artist – Irma Thomas
23. Soul Blues Male Artist of the Year – Curtis Salgado
24. Traditional Blues Album – Chikadelic Super Chikan
25. Traditional Blues Female Artist – Debbie Davies
26. Traditional Blues Male Artist – Duke Robillard

Also, Buddy Guy received the “Lifetime Achievement Award”!



  1. Blues-R says

    Congratulations, Jason Ricci! Well deserved… now — get off the drugs, stay sober and keep producing good music!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>